Titel Image
Reference University of West Bohemia

Integration plasmabrush into Aerosol Jet Printing System

Reference University of West Bohemia

Jiri Navratil – R&D Engineer for Aerosol Jet Prtinting at the West Bohemian University in Pilsen reports on his experiences with the high-performance plasma system plasmabrush PB3 in combination with an Aerosol Jet Printing System. The plasma system was integrated directly into the Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 printer.

Logo RICE University of West Bohemia
Logo Faculty of Electrical Engineering University of West Bohemia

Aerosol Jet systems print fine-feature electronic, structural and biological patterns -such as 3D conformal sensors and antennas for aerospace, defense, consumer electronics, wearables and the Internet of Things (IoT) – on to almost any substrate.

We have very good experiences with relyon plasma PB3 and PS2000. We have fully integrated the plasma treating system PB3 into our Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer. Jiri Navratil – RICE – University of West Bohemia

Aerosol Jet is able to print nanomaterial inks in high resolution and ultra thin layers and this all even on 3D or shaped substrates. Thus the substrate preparation is the crucial process for optimal printed line quality.

Integration of plasmabrush PB3 into Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer
Integration of plasma source PS 2000 into Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer

Integration of plasmabrush PB3 into Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer
Integration of plasmabrush PB3 into Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer

The plasma system is reliable and works as a substrate treating and cleaning device just before Aerosol Jet ink deposition. The plasma changes the surface energy of the substrate. This process leads to improved wettability of the substrates and so to better adhesion and quality of printed lines. The low temperature nozzle is used for most of treated samples (PET and PEN foils, Polyimide, glass, ceramics, etc.).

plasmabrplasmabrush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printerush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printer
plasmabrush PB3 and Aerosol Jet Printer
Comparison: wettability before and after plasma treatment with plasmabrush PB3
Comparison: wettability before and after plasma treatment with plasmabrush PB3

On picture 4 PEDOT (organically conductive material) was printed on PET film with the Aerosol Jet Printing System. The differences between the wettability before and after plasma treatment are clearly visible. This leads to a considerably better print quality.

Thanks to the full integration, the plasma treating can be immediately followed by Aerosol Jet printing. There is no need for manipulation with substrate and so it also avoids risk of surface contamination.

More information plasmabrush >>
Contact
close slider

    How did you hear about us?

    In order to be able to process your request, please give your consent to store your data. You can object to your consent at any time.

plasmabrplasmabrush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printerush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printer
Referenz: Westböhmische Universität in Pilsen

Integration des plasmabrush in ein Aerosol Jet Printing System

Referenz: Westböhmische Universität in Pilsen

Jiri Navratil – R&D Engineer for Aerosol Jet Prtinting der Westböhmische Universität in Pilsen berichtet über seine Erfahrungen mit dem Hochleistungs-Plasmasystem plasmabrush PB3 in Kombination mit einem Aerosol Jet Printing System. Hierbei wurde das Plasmasystem direkt in den Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Drucker integriert.

Logo RICE University of West Bohemia
Logo Faculty of Electrical Engineering University of West Bohemia

Das Aerosol Jet-System druckt feingliedrige elektronische, strukturelle und biologische Muster – wie 3D-konforme Sensoren und Antennen für die Luft- und Raumfahrt, die Unterhaltungselektronik, die Konsumgüterelektronik und das Internet of Things (IoT) – auf fast jedes Substrat.

Wir haben sehr gute Erfahrungen mit dem plasmabrush PB3 und der PS2000 von relyon plasma gemacht. Hierbei haben wir das Plasmasystem PB3 vollständig in unseren Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Drucker integriert.Jiri Navratil – RICE – University of West Bohemia

Der Aerosol Jet Drucker ist in der Lage, Nanomaterial-Tinten in hochaufgelösenten und ultradünnen Schichten zu drucken, sogar auf 3D- oder geformten Substraten. Die Substratvorbereitung ist somit der entscheidende Prozess für eine optimale Druckqualität in der jeweiligen Drucklinie.

Integration des plasmabrush PB3 in ein Aerosol Jet Printing System
Integration der Plasmaquelle PS 2000 in den Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Drucker
Integration of plasmabrush PB3 into Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Printer
Integration des plasmabrush PB3 in den Optomec Aerosol Jet UP300 Drucker

Das Plasmasystem ist zuverlässig und fungiert als Substratbehandlungs- und Reinigungsgerät kurz vor der Aerosol Jet-Tintenabscheidung. Das Plasma verändert die Oberflächenenergie des Substrats. Dieser Prozess führt zu einer verbesserten Benetzbarkeit der Substrate und damit zu einer besseren Haftung und Qualität der gedruckten Linien. Die Niedertemperaturdüse wird für die meisten behandelten Materialien (PET- und PEN-Folien, Polyimid, Glas, Keramik, etc.) verwendet.

plasmabrplasmabrush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printerush PB3 Aerosol Jet Printer
plasmabrush PB3 und Aerosol Jet Printer

Comparison: wettability before and after plasma treatment with plasmabrush PB3
Vergleich Benetzbarkeit vor und nach der Plasmabehandlung

Auf Bild 4 wurde mit dem Aerosol Jet PEDOT (organisch leitfähiges Material) auf PET-Folie gedruckt. Hierbei sind die Unterschiede hinsichtlich der Benetzbarkeit vor und nach der Plasmabehandlung deutlich sichtbar. Dies führt zu einer erheblich besseren Druckqualität.

Dank der vollständigen Integration kann auf die Plasmabehandlung sofort mit dem Aerosol-Jetdruck begonnen werden. Es ist keine weitere Behandlung des Substrates erforderlich, so dass auch das Risiko einer Oberflächenkontamination vermieden wird.

Weitere Informationen zum plasmabrush >>

Keyword Search

Relyon Plasma News

Relyon Plasma Publications

Kontakt
close slider

Wie sind Sie auf uns aufmerksam geworden?
Online RechercheSocial MediaFachzeitschrift/PresseMesse/VeranstaltungEmpfehlung