Titel Image
Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA)

Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA)

The Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA) is used to describe a group of co-polymers. Examples include cold-resistant extractable spouts of canisters, plastic sheets used in agriculture and horticulture, shrink-wraps (office supplies, solar modules), shower curtains, and flooring. A subclass of EVAs extending up to 28% VA is mainly used as melt adhesive.

In photovoltaics, solar cells are embedded in EVA. In this process, the EVA contained in plastic sheets is melted at a temperature of about 150 °C (300 °F), becomes crystal clear and cross-links three-dimensionally. When cooled off, the resulting bond is highly durable and serves to protect the cells against environmental stress.

If VA content is higher than 30% (it may reach up to 90%), the resulting elastomer is similar to natural rubber. It is often called EVM (DIN I ISO 1629:1995), and is primarily used for shoe soles or as a polyblend together with other elastomers.

 

« Back to Glossary Index
Contact
close slider

    How did you hear about us?


    [honeypot email]

    In order to be able to process your request, please give your consent to store your data. You can object to your consent at any time.

    [honeypot Website]

    Spam protection - please enter result:

Titelbild
Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA)

Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA)

Ethylen / Vinylacetat (EVA) bezeichnet eine Gruppe von Co-Polymeren. Beispiele sind kälteunempfindliche herausziehbare Ausgießer von Kanistern, Folien für Landwirtschaft und Gartenbau, Einschweißfolien (Bürobedarf, Solarmodule), Duschvorhänge, Fußbodenbeläge. Die darüberhinausgehende Klasse von EVA mit bis zu 28 % VA wird überwiegend als Schmelzklebstoff verwendet.

In der Photovoltaik werden Solarzellen in EVA eingebettet. Hierbei wird das in Folien eingesetzte EVA bei Temperaturen um ca. 150 °C aufgeschmolzen, wird glasklar und vernetzt dreidimensional. Nach dem Abkühlen liegt so ein dauerhafter Verbund vor, der die Zellen vor Umwelteinflüssen schützt.

Bei VA-Gehalten über 30 bis hin zu 90 % entsteht ein kautschukähnliches Elastomer, für das sich auch die Bezeichnung EVM eingebürgert hat (DIN ISO 1629:1995). Es wird vorwiegend für Schuhsohlen oder als Polyblend zusammen mit anderen Elastomeren verwendet.

Kontakt
close slider

    Wie sind Sie auf uns aufmerksam geworden?

    Um Ihre Anfrage bearbeiten zu können, geben Sie bitte Ihre Einwilligung zur Speicherung Ihrer Daten. Sie können Ihrer Einwilligung jederzeit widersprechen.